Filtered lists are a great way to keep track of subsets of content over time. They are dynamic, which means that based on the filters you set, a list will automatically update to display relevant items when new content is added to your workspace, or if the state of that content changes.

For example, if you need a simple way to automatically track all content that contains the tag ‘Politics’ and has the status ‘Unstarted’, you can create a list using this filters. Any new item matching this filter will be displayed in that list.

This article explains how to:

Note: though Check users with Collaborator permissions open filtered lists and filter content, they cannot save the results as filtered lists.

Creating a new filtered list from scratch

  • In the left panel, click Filtered list “+” at the top of the filtered list drawer;

  • Give it a name, and save it. When a new filtered list is created, it will display all items in your workspace by default;

  • Click the play button to run the filter and only display the content that matches that filter;

  • Once your filtered list is set as you intend, save the changes to the list you just created.

Pro Tip: to view all main and secondary items from any saved filtered list, ensure the 'Show similar' slider is set to ON.

Creating a new filtered list from an existing list

When exploring content in an existing filtered list, you may find yourself modifying it’s filter and wanting to save the new version as a new list, while keeping the original version intact.

You can safely modify existing filtered lists to explore your data, and choose to save the new filter if you wish too as a new list:

  • When loading an existing filtered list, the ‘Save List’ button will not appear. This list is in the same state as it was originally saved;

  • It is only after adding or editing filters that the button “Save list” appears.

  • Choose the option “Create new list” in the modal, and give it a new name.

That’s it! You now have created a new filtered list, and the original one remains intact.

Creating a new filtered list from a folder

When opening a folder, the content displayed is restricted to that same folder. For that reason, the filter will always display the name of the folder currently open.

As you are currently within that folder, you cannot edit this filter, but you can add more, following the same process as previously described.

Although you can create new filters within a folder to explore your content, you will have to create a new filtered list in order to save the filter you created.

When saving a list from a folder, the only option is to create a new list:

Creating a new list from “All items”

When viewing content within “All items”, you can create new filters and save those by creating a new filtered list. However, here too, the only way to save a filtered list from “All items” is by creating a new list.

Creating and editing filters

You can access different types of filters by clicking “+ Add filter”.

Choose filters from the dropdown menu.

Lists of filters

  • Folder: Select one or multiple folders.

  • Claim: Select claim field is empty or not.

  • Collection: Select one or multiple collections.

  • Date range: Select a beginning and/or end date. There are four types of dates you can query:

    • Submitted - the date an item was first added to Check.

    • Last submitted - the date an item was last added to Check - this option is valuable when you expect duplicate items to be added to Check.

    • Updated - last time the item was edited by a workspace member.

    • Published - The date at which the item’s report was published.

  • Tag: Select one or many tags. All tags available on your workspace are listed here.

  • Media type: Select one or multiple options from the Text, Link, Image, Video, and Audio fields.

  • Item read/ unread: if the item has been clicked to open or not.

  • Item status: Select one or many statuses. All statuses available across your workspace are listed.

  • Report Status: Select one or multiple statuses that have been added to your workspace.

  • Published by: Select the team member that published the report.

  • Created by: The name of the user who added the item to your workspace.

  • Channel: How the item was added on Check, either manually, browser extension, Fetch, or via any Tipline.

  • Tipline request: This filter allow to know if the user followed the bot prompts(confirmed) or if they did not (unconfirmed).

  • Number of similar medias: displays the number of items (within a user-defined range) that have machine or manual similarity matching.

  • Number of suggested medias: the number of items within a user-defined range with suggested matches. Note: this filter is only displayed when similarity is switched on in the workspace.

  • Number of Tipline requests: displays the number of items received via a Tipline within a user-defined range. Note: this filter is only displayed when Tiplines are connected to workspaces.

  • Language: Select one or multiple languages. All detected languages across your workspace are listed.

  • Assignment: Select one or many users assigned to items. To view items assigned to team members, choose 'Assigned' from the list, then click 'Done'. You can then select the team member(s) by clicking the '+' button.

  • Source: Select from a searchable list of existing sources.

  • Annotation: Filter by any annotation field available in your workspace. Depending on the type of annotation, a small form will display ad hoc options to specify the filter.

Annotation filters allow more granular results when combined with the other filters. For instance, if any of your annotation questions are date range or numbers, you can easily specify these in the values that are displayed by specifying if there are values or not inputted as answers.

When you create a new filtered list or modify an existing one, you can choose to save the filtered items to a new list. Input the name of the new list and click the save button.

To further refine the filtered list results, you can use the AND/OR switch:

To delete the entire filter, hover over it’s icon, and click “X” to delete it.

Renaming and deleting filtered lists

To edit or delete a filtered list, click the three vertical dots to the right of the filtered list name, and choose the appropriate option.

A pop up window will appear where you can change the Title of the filtered list.

To delete a list, click the three dots to the right of the list name then select “Delete”.

Click “DELETE LIST” to confirm the action.

Did this answer your question?