On your workspace Status Settings page, you can add, remove, or change statuses. You can also change the default status and status language. Learn more about Statuses here.
In this article you will find information about:
The Status Settings page
The Status Settings page is under the "STATUSES" tab in the Main Settings menu. Navigate to the Main Settings menu by clicking the gray gear icon next to your workspace logo (1), and selecting the ‘Statuses’ tab (2).
The Status Settings page contains a list of all the statuses currently available in your workspace.
Adding statuses and custom messages
To add a status click 'NEW STATUS':
Fill out the sections in the window:
Status (35 characters max): The name of the status that will show up in the dropdown on the top right-hand corner of the item page. Clicking the downward arrow to the right, opens a palette to choose the status color.
Description (optional): This is a more detailed description of the meaning or use of the Status.
Send message to requester (optional): this space is for inputting custom messages sent to item requesters when the item’s status changes after clicking the checkbox.
To disable status custom messages, unclick the checkbox. The content remains visible in the message space, ready to be reactivated by clicking the checkbox.
After clicking the ‘ADD STATUS’ button, a confirmation message will appear at the bottom left of the screen.
Editing a status
To edit a status, click the three dots to the right of that status and select ‘Edit’
You can then edit the status name, description, custom message, and colors
Removing a status
You can remove a status by clicking the three dots to the right of that status and clicking "Delete". Note: You cannot delete a Default status.
Before deleting a status, you must make sure that every item with the status you want to delete is changed to a different status. You will be given the option to move all the items with that status to one of the existing statuses when you choose the "Delete" option.
A confirmation message will be displayed at the bottom left of the screen.
Creating translations for a status
For every language you have added to your workspace, translate the status into that language. The translated statuses are associated with the reports that are translated in that language.
Note: If a custom message is sent to a Tipline user whose request language has not been translated, the custom message will not be sent to them.
To translate Statuses:
Navigate to the status settings tab, and select any of the listed languages (1).
Translate the status name, description (2) and custom messaging (3) in the text box to the right of each status name.
Click "SAVE" after you are finished editing the translated statuses (4).
If you click SAVE before completing the translations, the notification below will appear:
The Default language is the status language that will be used if there is not a status in the language that the report is in. The default language will always show up on the top of the language list.
To change the default language, navigate to the Languages tab (1), click on the 3 buttons to the right of each language (2) and select ‘Make default’ (3).
You can also choose a new language by clicking the NEW LANGUAGE button (1) and scrolling to select your chosen language (2).
We encourage you to create translations of every status across all the languages as soon as possible. If you need to enable more languages in your workspace, "Start a Conversation" with our team by clicking the Help button.
Setting the Default Status
You can set a new Default Status by clicking the three dots to the right of that status and selecting ‘Make default’.
The Default Status is the status that a newly created item will start with. It will always be the first Status on the dropdown menu for choosing the status for an item.